Giving birth naturally

Making the decision to have a child is momentous.  It is to decide forever to have your heart go walking around outside your body.  ~Elizabeth Stone

After having 2 c-sections, I had wanted to give birth to my last child naturally. (well, maybe with some medication….an epidural….something?!) After meeting with the doctor at Olmsted Medical Center, they determined that I was too high risk to attempt a natural birth and recommended that I have a repeat scheduled c-section. I was pretty heartbroken, but accepted it.

My c-section was scheduled for 8am the morning of October 23, 2008. I was pretty nervous the night before and couldn’t sleep. I tossed and turned until about 2am when I woke up and realized I wasn’t only tossing and turning….I was in labor!!! I called the hospital and they told me to stay at home until I was scheduled to come in.

I got my things together and took a shower. During my shower, I realized my contractions were A LOT closer together. Once I got out, I realized they were A LOT stronger. I woke Brandon up and told him we needed to go to the hospital….NOW!!!!

On the way there, I realized I had maybe waited a little too long….although it was only about 5am and I had probably been. in labor about 2-4 hours. When we pulled into the parking lot, I couldn’t stand it. The contractions were right on top of each other.

When we got to the room, they assessed that I was fully dilated. There was no surgeon available. There was also no anesthesiologist. I was pretty pissed by this point and wanted some pain medication. Nope. Too late, they said. I was going to have to deliver RIGHT away.

So….we signed into the hospital at 5am. At 5:30 am, our son Hayden James Curtis Zandstra was born. Natually with no medication. 7 pounds, 11 ounces. 21 1/2 inches long. A great accomplishment and a great blessing. I got what I wanted, even though they said I couldn’t deliver him….I did. And, I’m proud of that.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Giving birth naturally

  1. l0rdsservant says:

    Kudos to you, girl! Natural birth is an amazing thing and one I think is being stripped from many women who are told they can’t do it (“the baby is too big,” “you’re too high risk,” “the pain is too intense,” etc.). I’m so glad you were able to experience it!

    • I DID have a baby that was too big! Riley was 10 lbs 10 ozs. He just wasn’t coming out! I had an emergency c-section with him and a repeat with my daughter. They scare you with the idea of “uterine rupture”. I’m glad I did it- third time’s a charm!

Leave a Reply

